The Berkeley campus’s most prestigious award for teaching, the Distinguished Teaching Award is intended to encourage and recognize individual excellence in that endeavor. Such teaching rises above good teaching: it incites intellectual curiosity in students, engages them thoroughly in the enterprise of learning, and has a life-long impact. While acknowledging the fact that the Berkeley faculty comprises many outstanding teachers, the Academic Senate’s Committee on Teaching is extremely selective in determining the recipients of this award: only 237 faculty have received the award since its inception in 1959.

This year, the recipients were
 Robin Einhorn of professor of history, Phillip Geissler associate professor of chemistry (whose 2000 Ph.D. is from Berkeley), and
 Kent Puckett, associate professor of English.

More information about the awards and recipients

Video: profiles of the 2011 recipients (9 minutes, 43 seconds)