[portfolio_slideshow id=18243]

Berkeley professors Clayton Critcher, Cathryn Carson, and Linda Williams were recognized by the Carol D. Soc Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Awards on April 15, 2014, for their vital role in mentoring graduate students and training future faculty.

The awards, established in 2007 and funded by the Graduate Division, seek to foster the qualities of excellence in mentorship that are central to the Berkeley community. More than 100 people attended the annual ceremony, hosted jointly by the Graduate Division and Graduate Assembly.

Cathryn Carson is a professor in the Department of History. Linda Williams holds a joint appointment as professor in the Department of Film and Media Studies and in the Department of Rhetoric. Clayton Critcher is an assistant professor at the Haas School of Business.

Also honored at the ceremony were winners of the Distinguished Faculty Mentor Award, sponsored by the Graduate Assembly: professors Katherine O’Brien O’Keeffe in the Department of English, Jeffrey Long in the Department of Chemistry, and Maciej Zworski in the Department of Mathematics.

Jane Fink, a Graduate Division event manager who helps plan the festivities, has noticed that awardees establish relationships with their students that extend beyond graduate school to subsequent careers and often other major life milestones. “By their example, these professors are fostering models of mentorship that carry forward through successive generations,” said Fink.

Nominations for the 2015 awards will begin in November 2014. For more information, visit the Graduate Mentoring Awards homepage.