graduate assembly logo

Graduate Assembly elections took place on March 7 at a lively five-hour meeting that discussed 29 nominated candidates, eight newly elected officers, and one announcement of a mayoral candidacy. The Graduate Assembly, the official representative body of graduate and professional students on the Berkeley campus, holds elections every March for the following year’s officers. The officers are elected by the delegate body, which represents all graduate programs on campus. The new officers below will begin their terms on July 1, 2016.

Iman Sylvain was elected President of the Graduate Assembly, after having successfully served as the External Affairs Vice President (EAVP) for two consecutive years. Iman, a PhD candidate in the Department of Plant and Microbial Biology, pledged to acknowledge, honor, and empower graduate students.

Kena Hazelwood Carter, an active Graduate Assembly delegate, was voted Internal Vice President. In this role she will focus on empowering and training the delegates. Kena is a PhD candidate in Education.

Dax Vivid was elected Campus Affairs Vice President, after a successful year as the Project Director of the Graduate Student Wellness Project. Dax, a PhD candidate in Integrative Biology, will reinforce the network of support needed to realize the Graduate Assembly’s advocacy agenda.

Jonathan Morris was voted External Affairs Vice President, after a year as the Graduate Assembly’s Rules Officer. He is a PhD candidate in Applied Science & Technology.

Matt Grigorieff was voted Vice President of Finance, after several years as an active delegate and his recently appointed role as the Graduate Assembly’s Relations & Development Director. Matt is a Master’s candidate in the Graduate School of Education.

Andrew Stevens, a PhD candidate in the Department of Agricultural & Resource Economics, was elected Rules Officer.

Daniel Wooten was re-elected to his role as the Sustainability Officer of the Graduate Assembly. Daniel is a graduate student in Nuclear Engineering.

Eric Bolin was elected Funding Officer. Eric is a PhD candidate in Biophysics.

For more information about the election and the new executive board, visit the Graduate Assembly website.