Congratulations to the 2021 Berkeley SciComm Fellows!

collage of 12 graduate students

Twelve emerging scientists have been selected as Berkeley SciComm Fellows!

Science at Cal would like to welcome these 12 graduate students to the inaugural class of Berkeley SciComm Fellows. Theses individuals were selected for their passion for science communication, their commitment to help build a community of practitioners at UC Berkeley, and their desire to apply science communication skills to their career, spanning academia, policy, outreach, and more.

  • Francisco Manuel Martinezcuello, Graduate School of Journalism

  • Kaydren Orcutt, Department of Chemistry

  • Robin D. Lopez, Department of Environmental Science, Policy, & Management

  • Sarina Patel, Department of Earth and Planetary Science

  • Schuyler Laparle, Department of Linguistics

  • Tera Johnson, Department of City and Regional Planning

  • Kwasi Wrensford, Department of Integrative Biology

  • Lawrence Wang, Department of Integrative Biology

  • Madeline Arnold, Department of Molecular and Cell Biology

  • Julie, Fornaciari, Department of Chemical and Biomolecular Engineering

  • Louise Hansen, Department of Bioengineering

  • Sierra Lear, Department of Bioengineering

As a Berkeley SciComm Fellows, they will learn facilitation skills, take a deep dive into science communication practice, and receive training to lead two different science communication workshops, Science Storytelling and Public Speaking. They will then have opportunities to run these workshops for the UC Berkeley community.

If you would like to be notified of upcoming Berkeley science communication workshops, please join our mailing list at

Updates about the program will be posted at

And if you have any questions, please contact Berkeley SciComm Fellows Trainer Sara ElShafie ([email protected]).