Collection of awardee headshots

Work by Berkeley Journalism students is featured in national magazines, news shows, podcasts, and blogs annually, receiving a wide array of public recognition. But each year, the UC Berkeley Graduate School of Journalism also convenes representatives of the local journalism community — teachers and alums — to decide whom they want to single out for outstanding work that exemplifies what the school most values.

These are the Excellence Awards, given by the J-School, to recognize student journalism that combines professional quality with public importance. The awards span investigative reporting, photojournalism, documentary filmmaking, and narrative writing.

Read the full list of winners on the Berkeley Journalism website.

Photo caption: From Left to Right, Top Row: Meiying Wu (‘20), Walker Dawson (‘19), Caron Creighton (‘19), Lorin Eleni Gill (‘19), Karla Caraballo-Torres (‘19), Sara Harrison (‘19); Second Row: Nina Sparling (’20), Brandon Yadegari (‘20), Kaitlin Benz (‘19), Yutao Chen (‘19), Francesca Fenzi (‘19), Lucas Guilkey (‘19); Third Row: Wyatt Kroopf (‘20), Alyson Stamos (‘20), Luis Hernandez (‘19), Leah Rosenbaum (‘19), Sarah Cahlan (‘19); Bottom Row: Lisa Hornak (‘19), Mara Kardas-Nelson (‘20), Betty Márquez Rosales (‘20), Ravleen Kaur (‘20), Laurence Du Sault (‘20), Sarah Trent (‘20).