The Center for Chinese Studies offers annual competitive fellowships for continuing graduate students in Chinese studies.

Awards include:

  • Republic of China East Asian Fellowships
  • Summer Research Grants
  • Liu Dissertation Research Fellowships
  • Joseph R. Levenson Chinese Studies Awards
  • Elvera Kwang Siam Lim Fellowship in Chinese Studies
  • Pamela and Kenneth Fong Graduate Student Fellowship
  • Chu Fellowship, and Dissertation Writing fellowships.

Students may apply for more than one CCS award but may apply to only one of the four Center/Institute competitions, so should carefully consider which one best suits their needs.

Graduate students applying for these awards should be registered at UC Berkeley or on approved travel status during the award period.

Check The Center for Chinese Studies website for more information on the following opportunities. Contact [email protected] with questions. The deadline is Monday, April 2, 2018.