We are pleased to announce the 2008 recipients of the Sarlo Distinguished Graduate Student Mentoring Awards. These awards have been made possible by a grant from the Sarlo Foundation of the Jewish Community Endowment Fund. They are administered by the Graduate Division in collaboration with the Graduate Council of the Academic Senate.

Junior Faculty Recipient:

  • Irene Bloemraad, Assistant Professor, Sociology

Senior Faculty Recipients:

  • Susanna Barrows, Professor, History
  • Alexandre Chorin, Professor, Mathematics

The 2008 winners of the the Graduate Assembly’s Distinguished Faculty Mentorship Awards are:

  • Carlos Daganzo, Professor, Civil and Environmental Engineering
  • Dru Dougherty, Professor, Spanish and Portuguese
  • Paola Bacchetta, Associate Professor, Gender and Women’s Studies

We would like to congratulate the winners and all of those nominated for these awards.

An awards ceremony for both programs will take place on Tuesday, April 22, 2008, from 2:30 to 4:30 pm, in Room 775, Tan Hall, and is open to the campus community.


Andrew J. Szeri
Dean, Graduate Division